love (and chocolate)

Just when I think the guy I’m married to is the rugged, unsentimental type, he goes and proves me wrong. He turned down an invitation to a Valentine’s Day church function because “it’s a special day – they day we got engaged.” I expressed amusement that he remembered that after nearly 7 (!) years. He responded by listing what meals we had at the restaurant – even down to the margarita on the rocks I had. He got down on one knee and the waitress came over because she thought we had spilled something was why Erik was on the floor. I’m usually not one for public displays of anything resembling affection but I have to admit the memory is one of my favorite ones. I got a pretty great husband and a very pretty emerald cut amethyst and diamond ring out of the deal. It was a nice night. It’s very sweet he remembers that day so vividly. So I baked him a chocolate cake because now I’m feeling all sentimental and mushy. It’s so weird to me that almost 7 years have flown right by (honestly, where does the time go?). He’s made me a stronger and braver person and I’m enjoying the hell out of every second I’m with him.

Anyway, yuck, mushy romantic stuff! This cake is awesome – ever since Erik decided to stop being a choco-phobe and decided he was a chocoholic, he’s eaten everything chocolate in the house with gusto. This bundt cake has an earthy coffee flavor and the glaze isn’t overpoweringly sweet. It’s also super moist and pretty much the perfect specimen of chocolate cake (and a perfect cake to celebrate Valentine’s Day).

DSCN1468

Devil’s Food Cake with Espresso Ganache 
recipe from FoodieCrush

You Need:
4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped up
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
1 1/4 cups boiling water
3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup cake flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 sticks softened butter
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
3 large room temperature eggs
1/2 cup greek yogurt (I had none so I used sour cream)
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

Glaze
4 Tablespoons butter
8 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped
1/4 cup brewed coffee (just save your breakfast coffee leftovers)
2 teaspoons instant espresso powder (I always use instant coffee and it works just fine)
1/3 cup powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla

Heat your oven to 350. Butter and flour a large bundt pan – I mean grease this thing VERY WELL so your cake doesn’t stick. Set aside.

In a bowl, combine the unsweetened chocolate and cocoa in a bowl. Pour the boiling water over the chocolates and mix well. Set aside. In another bowl, whisk together the flours, baking soda, and salt. Set that aside. In your stand mixer, cream the butter for a minute. Add in the brown sugar and mix until fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time and mix well. Add in the vanilla and sour cream (or yogurt). Mix in 1/3 of the flour mixture and mix in. Scrape in half the chocolate and mix. Mix in the rest of the flour mixture, then finish with the rest of the chocolate. Scrape the (super fluffy, delicious looking!) batter into the bundt pan. Bake until a tester inserted comes out clean (it took me about 35-40 minutes). Let it cool and invert it onto a plate.

For the glaze, place the butter and semisweet chocolate in a double boiler (I use a small metal pan with water and set a small metal bowl on top). Let it heat until the chocolate and butter melt. Remove from the heat. Stir in the 1/4 cup coffee and the 2 teaspoons espresso (or instant coffee) powder. Mix in the powdered sugar and vanilla. Drizzle the glaze onto the cooled cake.

Image

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “love (and chocolate)

  1. good looking choc sponge very moist , i bet it tastes great

  2. rebekah

    It is fantastic! I love the deep coffee flavor with the chocolate. AND I was thrilled that it didn’t stick to the pan. My bundts always have a way of sticking badly 🙂

Leave a Reply

