winter blues

We’re still playing some weird tug of war with Winter here for Spring. So I’ve got sun, summer, barbecue on the brain. I received my garden seeds in the mail yesterday and of course they would arrive in the middle of an all day snow shower. But those seeds (including the free bonus packet of those cute little carrots Parisienne that Baker’s Creek tossed in my order) made me look past the dark clouds and the wet snowflakes and grin happily. I can’t wait to get them in my raised bed and start munching on fresh greens and such.

I’ve been engaging in my own little rebellions that make up my war against winter for weeks now – going out in 30 degree weather sans coat (eff you cold – I do what I want!), packing away my snow boots even though I know there’s another snow shower in the forecast in the coming days, eschewing warming soups and stews for ribs (made in the oven instead of the grill because I’m not entirely unreasonable), sandwiches, etc. I’ve been lusting after a particular sandwich since I saw it on the cover of the April issue of Bon Appetit. I knew Erik wouldn’t be into it because he is a killjoy when it comes to awesome foodstuffs (like Asian meals and chicken) so I was kind of glad he wasn’t feeling up to eating anything substantial for dinner last night. So I made myself this wicked awesome chicken sandwich and ate every last crumb. It looks just the tiniest bit complicated to put together but I swear it’s not. It’s crisp, tangy, and wonderful.

Fried Chicken Sandwich with Slaw and Spicy Mayo
recipe from Bon Appetit 
NOTE: this is the halved recipe – I made 2 sandwiches – one for dinner and one for my work lunch. Double the amounts here to get the full serves 4 recipe. 

You Need:
1 garlic clove, finely grated or minced
1/4 c mayo
1/2 Tablespoon of hot sauce (I used Western Family brand Louisiana style because I can’t find Frank’s here)
1/4 a red onion, thin sliced
1 jalapeno, sliced thin (I omitted this because I was in a hurry to eat my sandwich and it was just one more thing to chop)
2 cups cabbage, also sliced thinly
1/4 c bread and butter pickle slices plus a couple Tablespoons of the pickle juice
1 cups flour
1 good, big grind of pepper
1 large pinch of salt
1 cup buttermilk
1 8-oz boneless, skinless chicken breasts halved crosswise
oil for frying
2 sandwich buns (I used my standard homemade burger buns that I made this weekend)
butter for the buns

For the mayo and slaw: mix the garlic, mayo and hot pepper sauce together. Refrigerate until you need it. In another bowl, mix the onion, jalapeno (if using), cabbage, pickles and pickle juice together. Refrigerate until you need it.

For the chicken: mix the flour, salt and pepper together. Pour buttermilk into another bowl. Dip your chicken in to the flour mixture, then into the buttermilk mixture, then back into the flour, dredging it well.

Pour oil into a large skillet (I use my cast iron) to a depth of 1/2 inch. Head until it reaches 350. Fry the chicken until golden and cooked through. Drain on a wire rack and pop a little more salt onto them.

Cut your rolls in half and butter them. Broil them until they’re golden brown. Spread with your mayo, add a piece of the fried chicken, then top with the slaw. Eat eat eat!

Image

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

