Don’t let this fading summer pass you by

And I’m not – I swear to Christmas I’m not. There has been much playing in dirt and watching things grow:
Image

building of cute little barn-sheds:
Image

getting sunburns, grilling meats, playing with yarn*… man, has there been a lot of playing with yarn. I finally found a good non-food related hobby and that’s partially why I haven’t posted so much here. I’m all “who can cook and eat when there are socks to knit! or blankets and cute baby sweaters to crochet! Yarn shops to visit so I can creepily fondle all the yarn…” Fondle all the yarn! Make all the things! I have to admit it’s way more fun to build up the dogs’ wardrobe when said wardrobe consists of little (and big) handmade dog sweaters. But lest you believe I have traded eating for knitting needles, that is not quite true. I did find time in my dirt digging-yarn fondling schedule to make this coffee cake and I think everyone who has eaten a piece of it would agree it was a good thing I did. Man is this cake moist and buttery and crunchy and just full of wow. If it can distract me from molesting skeins of yarn long enough to devour it just think of how happy it will make your mouth.

Banana Pecan Coffee Cake
recipe from Serious Eats

You Need:
Streusel:
1/2 cup pecans, chopped
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 1/3 cups flour
10 Tablespoons butter, melted

Cake:
1 1/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 Tablespoons butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs and 1 egg yolk
1 teaspoon vanilla
7 ounces Greek yogurt (I don’t have a clue what 7 ounces looks like so I barely filled a 1/2 cup of sour cream because I did not have any Greek yogurt and I wanted to get this cake into my mouth and not wait to buy Greek yogurt for it. Just saying.)
2 medium bananas, diced

Heat the oven to 350. Butter and flour (or spray with Baker’s Joy) a 9 inch springform pan (or a 9 inch regular cake pan if you’re just going to leave it in the pan, whatev). In a bowl, combine the pecans, brown sugar, sugar, flour and cinnamon. Pour the melted butter all up in there and mix until everything is mixed together. Set it aside.

In your stand mixer, beat the softened butter and sugar together until fluffy. Add in the eggs and the yolk and beat it up. Add in the vanilla and yogurt (or sour cream) and beat. Then add in your dry ingredients. Fold the diced bananas. Pour the batter into your prepared pan. Top with all the streusely goodness. Bake until a tester comes out clean. Eat. Banana Coffee Cake tastes best with actual coffee in hand, in my humble opinion.

Image* On a related note, if you’re on Ravelry friend this mothereffer (aka ME – rebekahjohnson81) please. I have plenty of comments and such but no one wants to friend me there. Is it all the yarn molestation? Because I don’t believe for one second I’m the only knitter/crocheter who is into that. Not for one second.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

