a quickie

I don’t know what put it into my head that I needed to have a fresh, sweet, fruity popsicle in my hands IMMEDIATELY but before I knew it I ordered new popsicle molds off Amazon and had interlibrary loaned a copy of Fany Gerson’s Paletas book and now I am reaping the benefits of a lovely paleta. It reminds me of home in the best ways – I truly miss a good summer fruit cup or a blindingly sweet and cold raspa and these super fresh popsicles. They are as simple (and better tasting) than freezing up some Otter Pops or buying a box of popsicles. 

Peach Paletas 
recipe adapted from Fany Gerson*

You need: 
4 cups sliced peaches (I used some leftovers frozen last Fall that I didn’t have enough of for jam making)
3/4 cup sugar 
1/2 cup pineapple juice 
2 Tablespoons of lemon juice 

Place the peaches, sugar, and pineapple juice in a large pot. Simmer just until the peaches start to fall apart. Let it cool to room temp. Stir in the lemon juice. Toss everything into a food processor and process until pureed as finely as you want – I left a few small chunks in mine. Pour the mixture into popsicle molds (I purchased these), add the sticks, pop on the lid, and freeze until firm. 

Image

*I used the blueprint for basic strawberry popsicles from the book and just subbed in peaches for the strawberries and pineapple juice for the water the original recipe calls for. I’m looking forward to trying out strawberry and raspberry next. If I could find a damn coconut I’d love to make the fresh coconut paletas from the book, too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

