Another Quickie

Every time I get ready to make pizza I come to this blog to search for the dough recipe and I always forget “oh yeah, I didn’t blog that” so then I have to google it. The best part is my dumb self hasn’t pinned the recipe (odd since I pin every damn thing) or even saved it in my bookmarks so a-googling I must go. So I’m posting it here so I can give poor Google a rest. Anyway, I love making this pizza dough, I just don’t love the fight I always end up having with our smoke alarm in the process. It doesn’t like it when I crank the oven up to 500 and will scream about it every opportunity it gets. Poor Cracker (who is deathly afraid of the smoke alarm when it is shrieking) gets very nervous when he sees he me rolling out the dough for pizzas. I think he thinks he’s being punished in some way which should make me feel bad but  I don’t because I just really love this pizza, man. I love my dog but it’s just a damn smoke alarm, Cracker. Man up and deal with it.

Crispy Bar Style Pizza Dough
recipe from Serious Eats 

You Need:
2 teaspoons salt
1 Tablespoon sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons yeast
2 Tablespoons olive oil
12 ounces warm water
3 3/4 cups flour (sometimes I use this much, sometimes I don’t – I usually just mix the rest of the ingredients then add the flour a little at a time until I get the proper consistency)

Mix everything together and knead it well. Place it in a greased ziplock bag, close it up (press all the air out) and toss it in the fridge. Let it ferment for at least one and up to five days. I usually let mine sit in the fridge for the full five days. When you want to make your pizza, cut the dough in half (this makes two very large pizzas), roll out as thin as you like it and place it on a pizza stone or a pizza pan.* Preheat the oven to 500. I like to brush my dough with olive oil and grind some Italian seasonings on top. Top with your favorite sauce, cheese and toppings then bake until the crust is golden and the cheese is all melty and awesome (the cooking of the pizza does not take long at all because hello! 500 degrees is hella hot).

Image

*the original recipe has all this hoo-ha about letting the dough sit for a couple hours before you make your pizza – I have never once let it sit. I just take it out of the fridge, roll it out, and bake. The quality has never once suffered.

Leave a comment

June 14, 2013 · 1:19 pm

Leave a Reply

