we’re cookie monsters

It has been more hit than miss lately with our ongoing gluten free baking experiment. I was very pleased to find that something so simple as chocolate chip cookies and brownies are both delicious in their gluten free state. In fact, I would go as far as to say I think I enjoy both more as gluten free than not. There’s a slightly nuttier and richer taste to the cookies and the brownies are insanely moist and fluffy. It helps that I finally found a great GF flour blend courtesy of Artisanal Gluten Free Cooking. I love this book so much that I’ve kind of kept it from the library for about 2 months now. I keep renewing it but I think I’m going to have to just purchase the Kindle edition so I can always have it on hand to refer to.

This flour blend has been successful in recipes that don’t come from the book, like this one for chocolate chip cookies. The book cookies look perfectly lovely but I like mine to have a little more substance; I like them a little less flat and crisp. The fact that this flour is working well in all of the recipes that I’ve tried is a godsend to me and proof of how versatile this little book is.

Artisan Gluten Free Flour Blend
recipe from Artisanal Gluten Free Cooking 
for 3 cups you need:

1 1/4 cups brown rice flour
3/4 cup sorghum flour
2/3 cup cornstarch
1/4 cup potato starch (not the same as potato flour – it’s a different animal)
1 Tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon of potato flour
1 teaspoon xanthan gum

Mix together well and store in the fridge. I used the quadrupled recipe and that lasts us a good long while. Use this flour to make gluten free chocolate chip cookies:

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies 
recipe from Land O’ Lakes 

You Need:

2 1/4 cups gluten free flour blend
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
3/4 cup of butter, softened
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups chocolate chips or chunks (we like semisweet)

Heat the oven to 375. Whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and xanthan gum together in a bowl. In your stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugars together until fluffy and well blended. Add your eggs one at a time. Add in the vanilla. Slowly add your dry ingredients and blend together. Stir in the chocolate chips. Drop by large spoonfuls onto parchment lined baking sheets (or just ungreased baking sheets), space them 2 inches apart. Bake until lightly golden brown (about 10 minutes). Let cool for a couple minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack. If you don’t want to bake up all these cookies, I freeze the dough. I like to form them into little dough balls, place on a parchment lined plate and freeze them solid, then put the frozen dough balls into a freezer bag. They bake up just fine like you would if they were fresh made dough. Or bake them all at once and eat them all in one day, I’m not judging you.

DSCN1788

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

