The Best Dinner I Have Had Recently

I’m talking a salad for dinner. And not the “I’m dieting and eating salad and sad about eating salad for dinner” kind of dinner salad. I mean a bloody awesome, full of flavor and heartiness type of salad for dinner. The kind you can get excited about because you feel healthy eating salad but a little naughty at the same time because there’s bacon! and cheese! and salami! and a super flavorful garlicky dressing to go with it! Not the dieting kind of salad is the best kind of salad, in my opinion.

Italian Chopped Salad with Creamy Garlic Dressing 
recipe from The Kitchn 

You Need:
romaine, chopped
roma tomatoes, chopped
red onion, diced (they soak theirs in cold water but I personally enjoy the sharp bite of raw red onion so however you like them, you do you)
sliced cucumber (I added this because we needed to get that cucumber eaten)
a couple bacon slices, cooked and crumbled
mozzarella, cut into small cubes, as little or as much as you want
some Genoa salami, chopped
a can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
some chopped up, roasted chicken (I seasoned some boneless, skinless thighs with Italian seasoning and garlic with a drizzle of olive oil on top and roasted them in the oven then sliced them up)

For the Dressing:
2 or 3 large garlic cloves
olive oil
red wine vinegar
a good sized pinch of sugar
a medium sized squirt of Dijon mustard (a teaspoon maybe?)
mayo (I used mayo instead of the egg yolk they ask for originally because I don’t trust the grocery store eggs enough to eat raw. So what, I’m a weenie, sue me).
a dollop of plain Greek yogurt (or sour cream)
salt and pepper

Toss all the dressing ingredients in your blender or food processor and blend together until creamy and blended together. I honestly can’t give you exact measurements for what I did – when I make dressing I tend to just toss and stir and hope for the best. I know I shook a good amount of red wine vinegar in (a couple Tablespoons worth, perhaps?), used a big spoon and dumped in a good sized dollop of mayo and a smaller dollop of the yogurt and I streamed in the olive oil and just whizzed it until it was the right consistency for me (it won’t be gooey like bottled dressing. It will be a lot thinner than that) and I just tasted and adjusted the amount of salt and pepper I thought it needed. If you’d like exact measurements, visit the link above to The Kitchn.

Toss your salad veggies together then top with your beans, meats, and cheese. Drizzle dressing over all and eat.

 

DSCN1877

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

