A Quickie

Boss’s Day muffins! Because, as I told Shel-dog, all edible gifts are great gifts. I liked these muffins so much that if I weren’t so pleased with having to wear smaller pants (because I’m not stuffing my face with delicious muffins on the reg) I would have seriously re-thought giving these away. Erik asked if he could have one and I turned into this guy while I firmly denied his request:

Image

 

 

Nooooooooooooo muffins for you!

To be fair, they have gluten in them and they’re banana (which he hates) so it wouldn’t make sense to give him one even if I were so inclined to share these gloriously delicious treats. If you’re in need of a boss’s day gift, consider these! Or make them and eat them all yourself, I’m not judging. 

Banana Nut Muffins 
recipe from Love and Cupcakes

You Need:

2 cups flour 
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda 
1/2 teaspoon salt 
4 bananas (I used 3 large ones)
1  cup brown sugar 
1 1/2 sticks butter, melted and cooled 
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla 
1/2 cup pecans, chopped 

Topping:
1/2 stick melted butter 
1/4 cup chopped pecans 
1/3 cup brown sugar 
1/4 cup flour 
pinch of salt 

Heat the oven to 375. Line 2 muffin pans with muffin papers. Whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt. In another bowl, mash up two bananas. Toss the other banana(s) into the mixer and whip it with the brown sugar. Add in the melted butter, eggs, vanilla and combine. Mix in the dry ingredients then mix in the mashed bananas and nuts. Spoon into your prepared pans. 

To make the topping, combine all the ingredients in a bowl. I have to pause a second here because I realized, while typing this, that I made a mistake on my topping and instead of using 1/2 a stick of butter, I used a whole stick (1/2 cup) and that’s why my topping didn’t turn out crumbly like it’s supposed to. Instead mine was liquidy. Since I didn’t realize it at the time, I pressed on and spooned my liquid topping on my muffins and baked them that way. I thought they turned out SUPER FABULOUS. A tad messy, but certainly tasty because butter is a good thing. But if you want to do it right, your topping should be crumbly. Spoon your topping onto the muffins. Bake for 20ish minutes until the muffins are cooked through. 

Image

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

