Winter Treat

 I made this hot cocoa mix with every intention of giving it out in little jars for Christmas treat gifts but then I tasted it and since I’m nothing if not spectacularly selfish, I hoarded it all for myself. The end. 

Mocha Cocoa Mix 
recipe from Better Homes and Gardens

You need:
3 cups nonfat dry milk powder 
1 1/2 cups sugar 
1 1/2 cups cocoa powder 
2/3 cups instant espresso powder 
1 teaspoon salt 
1 cup chocolate chips

Buzz everything together in the food processor until it is all a nice, finely ground powder. To make your cocoa, heat a mugful of milk or water until very hot, stir in some cocoa mix. The official recipe says to use 1/3 a cup but that seemed like a lot to me. I do fine with just two heaping tablespoons full. Top with marshmallows or whipped cream. Give some away as a gift if you must. Or hoard it for yourself; I’m not judging. What I like about this mix is that it’s not spectacularly sweet (until you add your mallows or your cream). It’s warming and has that lovely coffee flavor I so adore. It’s a nice little sipping treat while knitting. 

Image

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

