A Quickie – Christmas Treats Edition

Every year it gets a bit easier to get my Christmas treats and gifts ready. By October, my list of what I want to make is done and by November it’s pared way down or changed entirely. Since I’ve got vacation time to burn this month, I’ve gotten a little ambitious in my Christmas treat-ing and settled on a bunch of different recipes than I usually do every year. Today I made two batches of cookie dough for the freezer (they’ll just need baked and packed then shipped on one of my upcoming days off), a batch of coffee caramel fudge for gifting, my ever-present Chex Mix that I basically survive on from mid November until January, and since I am still completely and thoroughly obsessed with hot chocolates, I made these hot chocolate truffles to pack with a small box of treats I’ll be giving each of my co-workers at our Christmas party. The boxes will also have pan de polvo in them, which I haven’t made since my wedding almost 9 (!) years ago. I find these truffles a bit easier to do up than the usual powdered cocoa mix. If you’re in need of a quick gift, this fits that bill perfectly.

Hot Chocolate Truffles
recipe from Your Cup of Cake

You Need:
2 3/4 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup heavy cream
1 Tablespoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla
peppermint candy canes, crushed very finely, mini marshmallows

Heat all the ingredients (except the candy canes and marshmallows) in a pot over low heat and stir together until everything is melted. Scrape the chocolate into a bowl and pop it in the fridge until it cools and can be scooped. It took me a couple of hours at least to get to that point. Scoop two tablespoons worth of the chocolate mixture onto a parchment lined baking sheet (or whatever will fit into your freezer) and freeze for about 30 minutes to an hour. Roll the scoops into balls and roll in the crushed candy canes or the marshmallows. Keep them refrigerated. To use them, heat up  about 1 1/2 cups milk and stir a truffle into the cup until it melts. Enjoy!

DSCN2598   DSCN2599

Leave a comment

Filed under Sweet Tooth, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

