a simple supper

I’m still in such a food funk lately. I’m still eating a lot because I do like to eat but I’m just not into the planning and preparing part of eating much lately. I’d rather fight with knitting the sleeve on a sweater or finish off a pair of socks instead of getting up and actually cooking. This week I’ve made things a lot easier on myself by just making a ton of Mexican food and/or actually preparing some of those pinterest recipes I’ve got in my Foodie Stuff board (there’s 377 pins on that board so there’s honestly no reason why I’m having so much trouble coming up with menus). I’ve been browsing the Hispanic Kitchen site a lot lately because if left to my own devices, I default to tacos tacos tacos enchiladas more tacos. There are a ton of super delicious and different recipes for me there. Tonight’s dinner was one such meal: super simple, super flavorful, super fast. Because the sooner I can get back to my knitting, the happier I am.

Carne en su Jugo 
recipe from Sonia Mendez Garcia

You Need:

skirt steak, cut into inch long pieces
oil
salt, pepper, garlic powder, cumin, ground coriander
tomatillos, rinsed well with husks and stems off
garlic cloves (a couple)
white or yellow onion, chopped
big handful of cilantro, chopped
a couple serranos
water or chicken broth
cooked pinto beans
onion and cilantro and avocado and lime for garnishing
warmed corn tortillas for serving

Put your tomatillos, your serranos, and whole garlic cloves into a pot, cover with water, and boil until the tomatillos are soft. Place them in a blender or food processor with chopped onions, some cilantro, salt, pepper, a little water or chicken stock (eyeball it to get the texture you want) and puree until everything’s smooth and kind of watery. Set aside.

Heat a couple tablespoons of oil in a large pot. Season the beef chunks with salt, pepper, cumin, garlic powder, and coriander. Add the beef to the pot and let them brown. Once seared, add in your pureed tomatillo mixture along with some water or chicken stock. Taste to see if you need to add more seasonings (I added a bit more salt and cumin and garlic powder to mine), cover with a lid, and let it simmer for a bit (the recipe states to let it simmer for an hour – I think mine went for like 30 minutes total and it was just fine). In the last 10 minutes or so of cooking, add in like a cup of cooked pinto beans and let them warm through. Ladle into bowls with plenty of the broth, garnish with chopped white onion and cilantro and avocado slices and squeeze some lime juice over everything. Eat with hot corn tortillas. I expected leftovers of this – there were none. It was very, very tasty and quick.

DSCN2657

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

