Pumpkin Spiiiiiiiiiiiiiice Tiiiiiiiiime!

I think anyone who took the time to browse my pinterest or my cupboards in the Fall would immediately realize I’m one of those people other people make fun of for really enjoying the emergence of pumpkin spice EVERYTHING in the Fall. I don’t apologize for it. It’s just what I like. I get a lot of joy out of this time of year – I’m not sweaty and hot when I take my walks, I like the colors changing subtly all over the Valley, I like being able to wear the sweaters/scarves that I spend all my time knitting. It makes my hard little heart so very happy. I also like all the pumpkin spice. I have yet to make it to “the city” to hit up a Starbucks for my annual PSL, but I did impulse buy a bag of pumpkin shaped pumpkin spice marshmallows at the grocery store the other day. And immediately came home and was like “what the hell am I going to do with these??” I’ll figure that out later. But in the meantime, I ran across several donut recipes on Pinterest and this one popped up and I realized I hadn’t yet test run my donut pan AND I found a jar of pumpkin pie spice so I thought SUNDAY FUNDAY DONUTS.

Browned Butter (Pumpkin Spice!) Donuts 
adapted from Joy the Baker 

You Need:

1 cup flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/3 cup sugar
3 Tablespoons butter
1 large egg
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 teaspoon vanilla

Heat the oven to 350. Grease a 6-donut donut pan. In a bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients (flour through the sugar listed above). In a small saucepan, carefully brown the butter (google a tutorial on how to do this if you’re not sure how). Immediately transfer the butter to a small bowl. Let it cool for a couple of minutes. In another small bowl, whisk together the egg, buttermilk and vanilla. Add in 2 Tablespoons of the cooled browned butter and mix together. Immediately add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix just until everything is combined with no streaks of flour left, but don’t over mix. Spoon batter evenly into the donut wells. Just a quick note: I did use all the batter for all six holes as the recipe stated and mine overflowed a bit. I cut away the overflowed bits and they didn’t end up having a hole in the center, but it still turned out tasty and nicely textured. Bake until the cake springs back at you when you lightly press your finger on the donuts and they’re lightly browned. Take ’em out, let them cool a bit, then glaze. I used that leftover tablespoon of browned butter whisked with some powdered sugar, a pinch of salt, some vanilla, and milk added slowly and in very small quantities until it was the texture I wanted. The original recipe has a recipe for chocolate glaze (and sprinkles!). I may try that next time…

DSCN2967

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment